Three More Countries Ratify MLC

June 24, 2013

ILO logoThree more countries, Barbados, Nigeria, and South Africa, ratified the Maritime Labour Convention (MLC) 2006 last week (19 & 20 June 2013). According to the ILO website 39 countries have now ratified the convention, that comes into force in under two months on 20 August 2013.

ISWAN welcomes the news and looks forward to working with all countries that have ratified in helping to set up National Seafarer Welfare Boards and port welfare committees as detailed in Guideline B4.4.3 (Welfare Boards) of the MLC.

Stay up to date with ISWAN's monthly email newsletter

We are grateful to our main funders for their continued support: