2015 International Seafarers' Welfare Awards Launched

November 11, 2014
Ffa5995D181A68F34F12D434De180904 Xl

The International Seafarers' Welfare Awards 2015 were launched on 10 November 2014. For seafarers, the backbone of the industry, welfare services and facilities can be a life line when working away from home for long periods of time.

These awards recognise excellence in the provision of welfare services by shipping companies, welfare organisations, ports and individuals - on ship and ashore. They showcase good practice in the industry, and highlight the commitment and dedication shown by many - in the service to seafarers.

With nominations now open, we encourage seafarers to recognise those that have shown them exceptional service this year. We urge seafarers to nominate for the award categories: Seafarers' Centre of the Year; Shipping Company of the Year; Port of the Year; and The Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year.

The winners of the 2014 International Seafarers' Welfare Awards were:

  • Shipping Company of the Year: Wallem Ship Management
  • Port of the Year: Port of Antwerp (Belgium)
  • Seafarer Centre of the Year: The Flying Angel, Fremantle (Australia)
  • The Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year: Fr Paul Noel (Durban, South Africa)
  • Judges' Special Award: Apinya Tajit (Sri Racha, Thailand)

Roger Harris, Executive Director, International Seafarers' Welfare and Assistance Network said "Seafarers make a massive contribution to all of our lives. Without them global trade would grind to a halt. They deserve to have excellent welfare services and facilities wherever they are in the world. These awards recognise the considerable efforts that organisations and individuals make to improve the lives of seafarers."

The International Seafarers' Welfare Awards 2015 will be held at the International Maritime Organisation in London on 9 June 2015 and will be presented by Mr Koji Sekimizu, Secretary General of the IMO. The awards are organised by the International Seafarers' Welfare and Assistance Network (ISWAN), and supported by the International Chamber of Shipping, International Transport Workers' Federation; International Christian Maritime Association; International Labour Organisation; the International Maritime Organisation.

Sponsors of the awards include Crewtoo, Wrist Ship Supply, and Garrets.

The awards are funded by a grant from the ITF Seafarers Trust.

Nominations close on 2 February 2015.

Stay up to date with ISWAN's monthly email newsletter

We are grateful to our main funders for their continued support: