More Countries Ratify the Maritime Labour Convention

July 25, 2014

Kenya is the latest country to have ratified the Maritime Labour Convention.

Over the past few months Ireland, Bangladesh, Argentina, Mauritius, Iran, and Belize have all ratified the convention. With Kenya's ratification this brings the total number of countries ratifying to 64.

Once a state ratifies it takes a year for the convention to come into force. The convention came into force just over a year ago for the first 30 countries that ratified.

Three major maritime countries – China, India, and the USA – have yet to ratify the convention. For the full list of countries that have ratified the MLC see here.

Stay up to date with ISWAN's monthly email newsletter

We are grateful to our main funders for their continued support: