Judges Announced for The International Seafarers Welfare Awards

March 04, 2015
1Eaceddaeafef05382C99Addbceb2Dc8 Xl

ISWAN is pleased to announce that the judging panel for this year's awards will be Mr Masamichi Morooka President of the International Chamber of Shipping, Mr Steve Cotton, General Secretary of the International Transport Workers' Federation, Fr Bruno Ciceri, Chair of the International Christian Maritime Association and Ms Rose George, author of the award winning Deep Sea and Foreign Going: Inside Shipping, the Invisible Industry that Brings You 90% of Everything.

Executive Director, Roger Harris said "We are delighted that we have leading figures in the maritime world as judges for the awards. The awards have attracted widespread interest this year and we have a large number of entries in each category."

The judges will be deciding on winners for the following categories: Shipping Company of the Year (sponsored by Garrets International), Seafarer Centre of the Year (sponsored by Wrist Ship Supply), Port of the Year and the Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year (sponsored by the International Chamber of Shipping). The awards will be presented by Mr Koji Sekimizu, Secretary General of the International Maritime Organisation during a high profile event at the IMO in London on 9th June 2015.

The awards are funded by a generous grant from the ITF Seafarers Trust and the main sponsor is Inmarsat Maritime.

See the awards website at

Stay up to date with ISWAN's monthly email newsletter

We are grateful to our main funders for their continued support: