Judges announced for International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards 2018

December 13, 2017
Fcd467D7B3349B271327A32De878Da3C Xl

ISWAN is delighted to announce the judges who will decide which nominees will be honoured for their excellent seafarers’ welfare provision at its International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards next year.

Each of the four awards categories will be judged by an esteemed panel of representatives from across the maritime industry. The panels are as follows:

Port of the Year
Pradeep Chawla – Managing Director, QHSE and Training, Anglo Eastern
Kimberly Karlshoej – Consultant, ITF Seafarers’ Trust
Peter Tomlin – Chief Executive, Merchant Navy Welfare Board

Seafarers’ Centre of the Year
Tomas Abrahamsson – Acting Head, ITF Seafarers’ Trust
Robert Kledal – Chief Executive Officer, Wrist Ship Supply
Jan Oltmanns – Managing Director, DUCKDALBEN International Seamen’s Club
Jason Zuidema – Executive Director, North American Maritime Ministry Association

Shipping Company of the Year
Karin Orsel – Chief Executive Officer, MF Shipping Group
Natalie Shaw – Director of Employment Affairs, International Chamber of Shipping
Jacqui Smith – Maritime Coordinator, International Transport Workers’ Federation
Niels Snog – Chief Executive Officer, Garrets International

The Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year
Drew Brandy – Senior Vice President Market Strategy, Inmarsat
Marissa Oca – Founder, Gig and the Amazing Sampaguita Foundation
Natalie Shaw – Director of Employment Affairs, International Chamber of Shipping
Ankita Srivastava – Voyage Manager, Commercial Operations, Teekay

The International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards are made possible by a generous grant from the ITF Seafarers' Trust and Gold sponsor Inmarsat. In addition, ISWAN is pleased to announce MF Shipping Group as the sponsor of the Port of the Year award. The other awards sponsors are the International Chamber of Shipping (Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year), Garrets International (Shipping Company of the Year), and Wrist Ship Supply (Seafarer Centre of the Year).

The awards are also supported by the International Labour Organization (ILO), the International Christian Maritime Association (ICMA) and the International Transport Workers Federation (ITF).

Nominations for the awards have now closed and ISWAN is currently inviting nominees to submit their entries. The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony held at the International Labour Organization in Geneva next April.

Stay up to date with ISWAN's monthly email newsletter

We are grateful to our main funders for their continued support: