Launch of the 2018 International Seafarers' Welfare Awards

September 18, 2017
467A11Bbfad7B1D341B6B5E16438D2B3 Xl

Calling All Seafarers to Nominate the Best in Seafarers' Welfare

ISWAN's International Seafarers' Welfare Awards recognise the best in shipping when it comes to looking after people at sea. This year, with support from some of the biggest names in the industry, the awards are set to be better than ever, but it all starts with the nominations. This is the chance for seafarers to have their say.

Now in its 7th year, the International Seafarers' Welfare Awards recognise excellence in seafarers' welfare provision and those who are helping to raise standards across the industry. The nominations process is now open, and seafarers are being encouraged to have their say about the individuals, organisations and companies who offer the highest quality welfare services.

ISWAN need nominations across 4 awards categories:

• Shipping Company of the Year
• Seafarer Centre of the Year
• Port of the Year
• Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year

The deadline for nominations is 1st December 2017. Candidates will then be invited to submit an entry to a panel of judges made up of experts from the shipping industry. Winners will be flown to Geneva to attend the award ceremony which will be held at the International Labour Organisation (ILO) in April 2018.

Speaking on the opening of the nominations, Roger Harris Executive Director of ISWAN said, "The International Seafarers' Welfare Awards continue to recognise excellence in the care that seafarers receive from shipping companies, ports, welfare centres and dedicated individuals while working away from home".

He added, "The work of seafarers can be dangerous, exhausting and isolating, but there are exemplary companies and organisations who ensure seafarers have access to the best possible services and support. It is important we commend those candidates - nominated by seafarers - to encourage everyone across the industry to raise the profile of seafarers' welfare."

The 2018 awards are made possible by a generous grant from the ITF Seafarers' Trust and the support of Inmarsat (Gold sponsor), the International Chamber of Shipping (Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year Award), Garrets International (Shipping Company of the Year Award), and Wrist Ship Supply (Seafarer Centre of the Year Award). The awards are also supported by the International Labour Organisation (ILO), The International Christian Maritime Association (ICMA) and The International Transport Workers Federation (ITF).

The shortlist of nominations will be announced in February 2018, and more information on the process can be accessed online at

So have your say today, and recognise those who do so much to care for seafarers across the world.

Stay up to date with ISWAN's monthly email newsletter

We are grateful to our main funders for their continued support: