Shortlist announced for the International Seafarers' Welfare Awards 2018

February 15, 2018
Aa5A4D6Dec12C1F4D7216F8D6Bfcaef8 Xl

From the best port, seafarer centre and shipping company to the organisation and individual who have done so much for seafarers – the International Seafarers’ Welfare and Assistance Network (ISWAN) has announced the shortlist for the 2018 International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards.

These are the companies, organisations and individuals who have offered exceptional levels of welfare services and facilities to seafarers, and are now in with a chance of landing this prestigious and influential award at a ceremony held at the International Labour Organization (ILO) in Switzerland.

Roger Harris, Executive Director of ISWAN, says: ‘These awards give seafarers the chance to recognise, and say thank you to, those who have offered them high quality welfare services and facilities. More than 2,300 individual nominations have been received from seafarers from all over the world’.

Nominees were asked to submit their entries explaining what they do for seafarers’ welfare, and the sheer scale of support from seafarers for their chosen welfare heroes makes these the biggest awards yet. The competition for the top candidates in four awards categories was intense and hard fought, and ISWAN is delighted to announce the following shortlist:

Port of the Year
Port of Barcelona, Spain
Port of Brisbane, Australia
Port Houston, USA
Port of Montreal, Canada
Port of Rotterdam, Netherlands
Port of Singapore, Singapore

Seafarers’ Centre of the Year
Durban Seafarers’ Mission, South Africa
Liverpool Seafarers’ Centre, UK
Mariners’ House of Montreal, Canada
Mission to Seafarers Brisbane, Australia
SCI Philadelphia, USA
United Seafarers’ Mission Tauranga, New Zealand

Shipping Company of the Year
P&O Ferries
Scorpio Ship Management

The Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year
Dan Tolentino, International Maritime Employers’ Council (IMEC)
David Rozeboom, Mariners’ House Montreal
Jasper de Rosario, Sailors’ Society
Maggie Whittingham-Lamont, The Mission to Seafarers

International Maritime Employers’ Council (IMEC)
Nautilus Welfare Fund

The winner of each category will now be decided by a judging panel formed of experts from across the maritime industry – view the judges’ profiles here. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on 23rd April 2018, to be held at the ILO headquarters in Geneva. The awards will be presented by Guy Ryder, Director-General of the ILO.

The 2018 awards are made possible by a generous grant from the ITF Seafarers' Trust and the support of Inmarsat (Gold sponsor), the International Chamber of Shipping (Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year Award), Garrets International (Shipping Company of the Year Award), Wrist Ship Supply (Seafarers’ Centre of the Year Award) and MF Shipping Group (Port of the Year Award). The awards are also supported by the International Labour Organization (ILO), the International Maritime Organization (IMO), the International Christian Maritime Association (ICMA) and the International Transport Workers Federation (ITF).

For more information, please contact Amy Liebthal or visit

Stay up to date with ISWAN's monthly email newsletter

We are grateful to our main funders for their continued support: