Time for seafarers to choose their welfare heroes

February 28, 2019
John Darrell M Jives
© John Darrell M Jives

Nominations are now open for the International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards 2019, which recognise the best examples of seafarers’ welfare provision across the globe.

The awards, organised by ISWAN, are the only awards in the industry which put seafarers’ voices at the centre.

This year marks a change in the selection process – not only will seafarers nominate their chosen ports, seafarers’ centres, shipping companies and welfare personalities; for the first time in the awards’ history, seafarers will judge the final shortlist and select the overall winners.

Roger Harris, ISWAN’s Executive Director of ISWAN, said: ‘We are excited to be doing things differently this year. We wanted to give seafarers even more of a say in deciding which companies, organisations and individuals are honoured with these awards, so this year seafarers will have the power to decide who will win. We want to showcase the best in welfare provision across the shipping industry, and who better to choose than seafarers themselves?’

Seafarers can nominate their welfare heroes at Individuals and organisations involved with seafarers’ welfare can also nominate for the two Dr Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year awards.

The shortlist will be announced in June, and the ceremony will take place at Inmarsat’s headquarters after their crew welfare event on Wednesday 11 September during London International Shipping Week.

We would like to thank our generous sponsors, without whom the awards would not be possible: Inmarsat, the International Chamber of Shipping, Wrist Ship Supply, Garrets, and MF Shipping Group.

For more information about the International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards, please visit

Stay up to date with ISWAN's monthly email newsletter

We are grateful to our main funders for their continued support: